Failure to Launch or Soaring Solo – Pt. 5


Instilling Vision – Part Five
One of the main purposes that I began this blog is to make it easier for parents that come behind me. So here are a few tools that you can easily cut and paste out of my blog and into the files of your own computer, and use for your own children. I strongly encourage you to start a file in your computer and include these documents so that when the time is right for your own children to need them you can easily access them.

Cheering you on,
Naomi

TOOLS FOR INSTILLING VISION

CHOOSING WHAT TO DO AFTER HIGH SCHOOL IS PROBABLY ONE OF THE MOST VITAL DECISIONS YOU WILL MAKE.
Pam Farrel in her book “Got Teens?” suggests some options:

  1. travel
  2. work
  3. join the military
  4. go to a Jr. College
  5. intern program, trade school
  6. technical school
  7. 4-year public college
  8. 4-year private college
  9. year-long Bible college
  10. Bible college in Jackson Hole, Wyoming (this is right on the border of Yellowstone National Park and skiing/snowboarding days are built into the program)
  11. YWAM offers training for those wanting careers in vocational ministry (their headquarters are in Hawaii)
  12. Honors Academy (with Ron Luce in Texas)
    13. 24/7 Leadership School in Birmingham, Alabama

    If __________________________ decides to live at home and work or attend Jr. college you will be required to pay for tuition, and transportation.

    What are your academic goals for your life?

    An excellent way to learn more about an occupation is to talk with people who are doing the kinds of work you are investigating. Secure interviews with experienced people by calling them, introducing yourself and explaining that you’re seeking first-hand information about their job or profession. Let them know you are not seeking employment but are just looking for good advice from a knowledgeable source.

    Here are suggested questions to ask:

    1.        How long have you been a ________________?

    2.        How did you decide to become a  _____________?

    3.        What kinds of schooling/training were required

    4.        How did you get your first job in this field?

    5.        What do you like best about being a  _____________?

    6.        What do you like least about being a  _____________?

    7.        How has this job changed since you got into it?

    8.        What do you do during a typical day?

    9.        What does a beginning   _____________ earn and how much can a person earn after ten years of experience?

    10.        What are the intangible benefits of being a  _____________?

    11.        Apart from formal training, what kinds of experience should I try to get that would help me prepare to be a  _____________?

    12.        What could I read that would help me learn more about being a  _____________?

    13.        Where else could I look for more information about a career in this field?

    Use additional sheets of paper to write more questions you want to ask.

    Career Survey

    Make a copy of this page for each occupational title for which you have a high percentage match. Write in the occupational title and SOC code and begin acquiring information from the O*NET.
    Occupational Title: ________________________________ SOC Code: _____________

    Gather information and make notes regarding the career you are investigating.
    1. What schooling/training is required for this career?
    2. How long will it take me to acquire the schooling/training required?
    3. How does this career align with my gifts?
    4. How much money will I need to prepare for this career? $__________
    5. How will I get it?
    6. Am I willing and able to devote the time and expense required to prepare for this career?
    7. I expect to receive the following benefits from my career:
    8. I am willing to do the following to achieve success in my career:

About Professional Parenting

Wife, mother, motivational speaker, author, counselor and teacher. I have 3 adult children and a husband of 27 years. For the past 13 years I have served the youth and their parents at Liberty Church in Marietta Georgia. I loved everything about being a mom: I loved the terrible twos, and the terrifying teens, and the cake in my hair, and the spilled punch. I loved the chaos, the noise, the craziness of tons of kids. It was everything I wanted in my life. I loved that constant overwhelming feeling of someone being completely dependent on me as well as that joyful, aweful feeling of watching that same someone just 18 years later leave me and go off in the world on their own. Interests: * Christian * wife * mom * child training * pre-teens * teenagers * youth group * young girls * young women * seasoned sisters Favorite Books: * "Praying for Your Adult Children" By: Stormie Omartian * "Life on the Edge" By Dr. Dobson (Note: This was required reading for my kids when they turned 13.)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

