Failure to Launch or Soaring Solo – Pt. 3


Soaring Eagles vs. Sitting Ducks

Instilling Vision – Part Four

Comfortable  vs. Uncomfortable:

I want to share two stories with you today.  One about comfort and one about discomfort, and how those two concepts play into our children’s future outcomes of “Failure to Launch or Soaring Solo”.

Story number one: Uncomfortable

When it’s time for the baby eagles to leave the nest and start to fly, the mama eagle will make the nest uncomfortable so that the nest will poke the baby eagle. This will encourage the eagle to move to the edge of the nest and inspire them to want to learn to fly and leave the nest.  It’s important that we was parents don’t make the nest so comfortable that our kids don’t ever feel motivated to get out of their comfort zone and fly solo.

Too Comfortable:

This story was told by Gaye Martin on the Focus on the Family daily program on Oct. 20, 2010:

A farmer had acres of land that were swarming with Mallard Ducks. I asked the Farmer “Where did you get these Mallard Ducks?”  He said, “Well, I found 3 eggs in the woods, brought them home, put them under a hen, and they hatched.  They hatched 2 females and 1 male Mallard Duck and they in turn attracted other ducks to my farm. Then months passed and my baby ducks began to see other ducks flying and my baby ducks began to start getting nervous and excited. I realized that a little time clock had gone off in their little duck hearts, and they were ready to defy gravity and take to the wind.  The farmer said, “I didn’t want to lose them, so what I began to do was, I began to over feed them and they got so comfortable they forgot to fly.  He said they were so satisfied and so comfortable, they never migrated.  What that farmer did was he stifled the urge to soar and they denied that upward call when they felt it.  Those ducks did not respond promptly to the tug that was calling them to higher places, so they didn’t achieve their assigned destiny. Instead of being SOARING eagles they became SITTING ducks.

Don’t stifle the urge in your teenager’s hearts to lift off. I believe that we all touch someone’s life, and to touch the future we must encourage those who are trying their wings today.

We must encourage those who are trying their wings to fly and one of the ways we do that is by not making our “nest” so comfortable that they don’t want to move out. We must encourage our kids to soar even higher and further than we have. We want them to break our speeds, to test their limits, to examine their boundaries, and before they are out of our nest we must clear them for take off. We as parents must learn to trust the skies, to trust the winds, to trust their wings.  And I hope that before they get to where they can’t hear us, they will hear us shout “FLY HIGH, FLY PROUD!”

About Professional Parenting

Wife, mother, motivational speaker, author, counselor and teacher. I have 3 adult children and a husband of 27 years. For the past 13 years I have served the youth and their parents at Liberty Church in Marietta Georgia. I loved everything about being a mom: I loved the terrible twos, and the terrifying teens, and the cake in my hair, and the spilled punch. I loved the chaos, the noise, the craziness of tons of kids. It was everything I wanted in my life. I loved that constant overwhelming feeling of someone being completely dependent on me as well as that joyful, aweful feeling of watching that same someone just 18 years later leave me and go off in the world on their own. Interests: * Christian * wife * mom * child training * pre-teens * teenagers * youth group * young girls * young women * seasoned sisters Favorite Books: * "Praying for Your Adult Children" By: Stormie Omartian * "Life on the Edge" By Dr. Dobson (Note: This was required reading for my kids when they turned 13.)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

